视图/开放
作者
罗斯,让C.
日期

1993

论文纪律

历史

学位授予者

坎特伯雷大学

学历层次

大师

学位名称艺术硕士

新西兰脊髓灰质炎病史

脊髓灰质炎作为一种流行病通过西方世界像一些伟大的彗星。 在1900之前仅偶尔认识到,脊髓灰质炎的流行病在二十世纪上半叶的频率和强度越来越高的西方社区出现。 数千人死亡,更多人终生瘫痪。 然而,1960不再担心这种疾病,事实上,在十年之内,除了直接受到影响的人之外,几乎都被遗忘了。 因此,从集体记忆中完全消除了这种毁灭性疾病的影响,1980的父母不得不被催促并哄骗他们的婴儿接种疫苗。

在二十世纪之前鲜为人知或未得到认可,小儿麻痹症的历史短暂而壮观。 这是十字军东征的主题,成为“时代最伟大的技术和人文主义胜利之一。”脊髓灰质炎的故事充满了悖论。 它在十九世纪被认为是最近的一种表现形式,但有证据表明它在古代出现。

多年来一直被称为“婴儿瘫痪”,它并不局限于婴儿,很少瘫痪。 当它瘫痪时,它导致成年人中最大的发病率和死亡率。 与伤寒,霍乱或肺结核等大祸害不同,脊髓灰质炎的流行病随着卫生和营养的改善而增加。 脊髓灰质炎长期以来被认为是一种神经系统疾病,但事实证明,致病因子是第一个被发现的大量肠病毒 - 影响胃肠系统的病毒。

最初被认为是一种罕见的疾病,最终显而易见的是,几乎所有人都曾在某个时候患过这种疾病。 由此产生的瘫痪和收缩的影响是英雄骨科治疗的主题,但最成功的治疗方法是由来自澳大利亚的未经培训的,不合格的“灌木护士”设计的。

多年来,流行病或受威胁的流行病可能会扰乱整个国家的日常运作,但后来证明所采取的公共卫生措施效果很差。 它产生的恐惧部分是因为它是如此反复无常。 似乎是被击倒的健康和强者。 正如着名权威人士在1940中写道的那样,“脊髓灰质炎的发作可能与麻疹一样无关紧要,也可能比死亡更令人痛苦。”

新西兰受到的影响与澳大利亚,美国或斯堪的纳维亚半岛一样多。 一份官方报告回顾说,“流行性脊髓灰质炎是该国最可怕的流行病,专业和公众的恐惧是合理的,因为没有具体的控制措施。”这项研究提出追踪新西兰脊髓灰质炎的历史 - 这个过程流行病,治疗和社区的反应。

产品

艺术:论文和论文 [1396]

View/Open
Author
Ross, Jean C
Date

1993

Thesis Discipline

History

Degree Grantor

University of Canterbury

Degree Level

Masters

Degree NameMaster of Arts

A History of Poliomyelitis in New Zealand

Poliomyelitis as an epidemic disease passed through the Western world like some great comet. Recognised only sporadically before 1900, epidemics of polio appeared in Western communities with increasing frequency and intensity in the first half of the twentieth century. Thousands died, many more were paralysed for life. Yet by 1960 the disease was no longer feared and indeed, within a decade, was all but forgotten except by those whose lives had been directly affected. So completely had the effects of this devastating illness passed from the collective memory, that by 1980 parents had to be urged and cajoled into having their infants immunised.

Little known or recognized before the twentieth century, polio has had a brief but spectacular history. It was the subject of a crusade which became “one of the greatest technical and humanistic triumphs of the age.” The story of polio is full of paradoxes. It was believed in the nineteenth century to be a recent manifestation, yet there is evidence of its appearance in antiquity.

Known for many years as ‘infantile paralysis’ it was not confined to infants and was rarely paralytic. When it was paralytic, it caused the greatest morbidity and mortality amongst adults. Unlike the great scourges like typhoid, cholera or tuberculosis, epidemics of polio increased with improved hygiene and nutrition. Polio was for long considered a disease of the nervous system, but the causative agent in fact proved to be the first discovered of a huge group of entero-viruses – viruses affecting the gastro-intestinal system.

Initially thought to be a rare affliction, it finally became apparent that almost all the population had suffered the disease at some time. The resultant effects of paralysis and contraction were the subject of heroic orthopaedic treatment, yet the most successful treatment was that devised by an untrained, unqualified ‘bush nurse’ from Australia.

For many years an epidemic, or a threatened epidemic, could disrupt the day to day functioning of an entire country, yet it was later proved that the public health measures taken were quite ineffective. The fear it generated was partly because it was so capricious. It seemed to be the healthy and the strong who were struck down. As a noted authority wrote in 1940, “An attack of polio may be as inconsequential as measles or more agonising than death.”

New Zealand was as much affected as Australia, the United States or Scandinavia. An official report recalled that “epidemic poliomyelitis was the most terrifying epidemic condition in the country and the professional and public fear was justified as no specific measure of control was known.” This study proposes to trace the history of polio in New Zealand – the course of the epidemics, its treatment, and the community’s response.

Collections

Arts: Theses and Dissertations [1396]